February, 2000

Dear Members and Friends of the IWRA:

Let me first take this opportunity, on behalf of the IWRA Board of Directors, to thank everyone for a successful 1999. In particular, hats off to Mark Basch, our 1999 President, for organizing a great Spring Field Trip in West Lafayette focusing on the water resource issues in Northwest Indiana. The real 'highlight' of the trip proved to be the tour of the Nature Conservancy's Kankakee Sands restoration project, in the heart of the remnants of Indiana's historic World War II hemp producing country. The cold and rainy November skies didn't dampen the enthusiasm or attendance for the Fall Meeting at the State Fairgrounds, where demonstrations of various well drilling techniques and geophysical assessment methods, along with lots of cookies and hot chocolate, held the interest of all who turned out. Mark's ever delightful sense of humor was present throughout, which proves that being President of IWRA is really a lot of fun!!

At the Fall Business Meeting, the 2000 IWRA Officers were formally elected:

President: Cyndi Wagner, IDEM 317/308-3214  
Vice-President: Don Arvin, USGS 317/290-3333 ext 139
Secretary: Glendon Williams, HNTB 317/636-4682  
Treasurer: Kathy Fowler, USGS 317/290-3333 ext 137

Not to be forgotten are the members that serve on IWRA standing committees: Jeff Martin continues to oversee our membership tasks; Harold Templin continues his long commitment as our liaison with the American Water Resources Association; Ken Luther serves as our faculty liaison; Siavash Beik, Bob Hall, and Jerry Liston serve on the Bechert Award committee; and Larry Theller is our webmaster. Thanks to Tim Kroeker for revising the IWRA brochure.

The IWRA Student Scholarship fund continues to be supported by many IWRA members and friends. The fund provides economic incentive and assistance to students attending Indiana colleges and universities who present papers at the biennial Spring Symposium. Many thanks go out to the following individuals who contributed in 1999:

Leslie D. Arihood Arthur C. Garceau Jeffrey D. Martin Dennis K. Stewart
Bob Autio Bill E. Giles Greg Nethery Jon D. Stolz
Konrad J. Banaszak Robert B. Gillespie Lesley Oliver Larry Theller
Mark E. Basch Rajindra Gosine Glenn D. Pratt Ronald F. Turco
Siavash E. Beik Henk M. Haitjema Lane A. Ralph Stuart G. Walesh
George Budwash Rosemarie Hansell Lawrence J. Ray Philip N. Ward
Jacques W. Delleur Bruce A. Kirschner Martin Risch Robert Wasick
Herbert B. Eagon Jr. David Knipe J. Anthony Rogers Lee R. Watson
Larry Feazell Dan R. Knowles Robert Schmidt Troy Weaver
Shiaw-fen Ferng Timothy S. Kroeker John N. Simpson Glendon G. Williams
John E. Fisher Sally Letsinger Kerry J. Smith John T. Wilson
Jane Frankenberger Kenneth H. Luther Audrey Smith Kortz Lorraine Wright
Cheryl A. Frischkorn Kathy Luther John B. South  

The 21st Annual IWRA Spring Symposium is a must. Please mark your calendars for June 14-16. The Symposium will be held at the beautiful Spring Mill State Park in Mitchell. The theme of the meeting is: Improving and Protecting Water Quality: Assessment, Regulation and Policy.

Much is happening in water resource protection both nationally and statewide. As in year's past, the business meeting will be on Wednesday morning, with the Symposium convening in the afternoon, and wrapping up on Friday morning. A call for papers is linked here [ Call For Papers ]. More on the Symposium will follow.

Please spend a minute to complete the enclosed membership form to renew your IWRA dues for 2000. The value of your $10.00 membership is unmatched by other professional organizations! Remember, students can join for $2.00. Encourage your friends and colleagues interested in water resources to join IWRA.

Please feel free to contact me at 317/308-3214 or e-mail cwagner@dem.state.in.us if you have any questions about IWRA in general, or the upcoming Symposium. I look forward to seeing all of you in June!

Cyndi Wagner
IWRA President

We have two versions of the IWRA brochure linked here. Give them to folks who are curious about us when you ask them to come to the Spring Symposium!

[ pdf version of brochure] [ pdf version of Call for Papers ]