

Indiana Water Resources Association

http://iwra.info

The Indiana State Section of the American Water Resources Association

April 24, 2023

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

We are excited to announce that the **42nd Annual Indiana Water Resources Association Symposium will be held at Purdue University in West Lafayette, IN from June 7-9, 2023**. The symposium will feature events at the Stewart Center, a catered awards dinner at the Dauch Alumni Center, and a tour by the School of Nuclear Engineering of the PUR-1 research reactor.

We will also be hosting a business meeting and social event featuring Arni's Pizza at the Lafayette Drury Inn, where reception and food will be available to all attendees, members, and families. The hotel also has a pool for those interested in taking a dip.

This year's symposium theme will focus on the "*Use of Nuclear Science in Water Resources*," including isotope aging, radioactive compounds impacting potability, industrial demand based on emerging nuclear power, changes in water demand planning, and updates to public policy. We are requesting folks submit abstracts to present at the conference based on the topics above with special interest in water resource presentations focused on equity for disadvantaged populations, disaster recovery or planning, and economic development, among other water-resources topics.

The call for abstracts will be coming soon, and we invite you to share it with colleagues who might be interested in our symposium. Students are especially encouraged to present at the symposium, and the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund will cover registration expenses for students to present.

Officers for 2023 are:

President: Andrew Pappas, Indiana Dept. of Environmental Management, atpappas@idem.in.gov, (812) 564-0253

Secretary: Ginger Davis, Indiana Geological and Water Survey, gindavis@iu.edu

Treasurer: Joe Schmees, The Nature Conservancy, joseph.schmees@tnc.org

Awards: Mark Basch, Indiana Dept. of Natural Resources, Division of Water, mbasch@idnr.in.gov

Update from the 2022 Symposium:

The Indiana Water Resources Association presented several awards during its 2022 event at Brown County State Park in Nashville, Indiana.

Jody Arthur was presented with the Charles H. Bechert Award for her significant contributions to water resources in Indiana. She worked in the Indiana Department of Environmental Management's Office of Water Quality her entire career, and played a crucial role in data collection and set-up of the External Data Framework for IDEM. Jody is a founding member of the Indiana Water Monitoring Council and has worked tirelessly to continue communications between water-resource monitoring professionals in the state. Her efforts in facilitating the connection between data and Indiana's water resources made her a deserving recipient of the Charles Harold Bechert Award for 2022. The William G. Wilber – John S. Zogorski Leadership Award was given to David Lampe, USGS-Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana Water Science Center, who served as the 2020 and 2021 IWRA President, and Ryan Mueller, Indiana Dept. of Natural Resources, the 2022 IWRA President.

The Outstanding Achievement Awards were awarded to Dr. Linda Prokopy and Laura Esman of the Indiana Water Resources Research Center in the academic sector; Maggie Sullivan, who is the Lake Monroe Watershed Coordinator, Friends of Lake Monroe in the private sector; and Odetta Cadwell, Executive Director of the IN-AWWA (retired), in the public sector.

Additionally, there were student poster and oral presentation awards, with Grace Carter of Ball State University winning first place for her poster on the effects of microplastics on fathead minnows; Tushar Mohanta of Ball State University winning second place for his poster on hydrologic regions of the White River; Sanoar Rahman of Purdue University winning first place for his presentation on the upper Wabash River; and Moayad Yacoub of Ball State University winning second place for his presentation on quantifying microplastics.

Please submit a nomination for the IWRA Charles Harold Bechert Award and/or the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards for presentation at the 2023 symposium. The Bechert Award celebrates lifetime achievement of excellence in water resources, whereas the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards honor individuals who have contributed significantly to the goals of IWRA:

Promotion of research and technical, social, economic, advances in all aspects of water resources; Collection and dissemination of water-resources information through publications, symposia, and other media; Relating the needs of water-resource institutions for specialized services or guidance to qualified professionals; or Initiating and maintaining lines of communication in the water-resources community.

Nomination forms are available on the IWRA website:

http://iwra.info/forms/IWRA_award_nomination_form.pdf. Please send your nominations to Mark Basch, IWRA Awards Committee, mbasch@dnr.IN.gov, (317) 232-0154. The nomination deadline is May 19, 2023.

An IWRA membership form and dues request was e-mailed early January. The form is at http://iwra.info/2023/IWRA_Membership_Form.pdf. Please support IWRA and our student scholarship program. Thank you for your support!

Regards,

Andrew Pappas 2023 IWRA President Indiana Water Resources Association Promoting Water Resource Science, Management, Education, and Communication for Professionals and Students http://iwra.info

THANK YOU! We thank those individuals that supported the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund in 2022: INTERA, IWRRC, Tom Bruns, Ginger Davis, Sally Letsinger, Andrew Pappas, and Chris Ritz, Joe Schmees, Kathleen Fowler, and Jody Arthur. Your support of the scholarship fund is critical for enabling student participation at our meetings.

WELCOME! We welcome the following new (or long-lost) members to IWRA: <u>2023</u>: Garth Lindner, Myles Moore, Gretchen Quirk, Tara Eggen, Megan Sullivan, and Timothy Kroeker. <u>2022</u>: Bangshuai Han, Harvie Pollard, Jody Arthur, Matthew Hardebeck, Michelle Del Rio, Kelly Brown, Tyler Hoskins, Sarah Hudson, Sanoar Rahman, Harvie Pollard, Rachel Walker, Tom Bruns, and Tusher Mohanta.