

Indiana Water Resources Association

www.iwra.info

The Indiana State Section of the American Water Resources Association

February 25, 2019

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

Please join me in thanking 2018 IWRA President Sally Letsinger and her team for a fantastic symposium on "Ensuring a Sustainable Water Future for Indiana". The field demonstrations and exhibitors were valuable additions to last year's symposium. The event was very well received, and the speakers and students provided both informative and engaging presentations.

The 40th Annual Indiana Water Resources Association Symposium will be held at Lake Wawasee in Syracuse June 26-28, 2019. The theme of the symposium is "*Water and Health: Exploring Healthy Water for Human, Animal, and Environment*". On Friday, June 28, we will have some outdoor presentations and tours around beautiful Lake Wawasee. Information regarding registration will be available soon.

This year we will again be soliciting sponsors for the symposium and field portion, and we will be recruiting exhibitors who want some exposure to our membership.

The 2019 symposium committee is seeking oral and poster presentations on a wide range of topics related to water health including: **Public Health and Safety:** contamination, flooding, vulnerable groundwater supply, infrastructure failures, toxic algae blooms, arsenic, PFAS, and other water related health concerns. **Habitat:** invasive or endangered species, low and high flows, sedimentation, pollution, and their effect on in-stream species. **Environmental Response:** bank stability, ground subsidence, floodplain considerations, and storage losses. **Infrastructure:** Integrated water resource management, public & industrial water supply, stormwater, treatment, distribution, and mapping. In addition to these "theme" topics, we would love to hear about water-resource issues and activities in *your* area of expertise.

A call for abstracts will be distributed by e-mail soon. Please share the call with colleagues who may be interested in our symposium. Students are especially encouraged to present at the symposium. The IWRA Student Scholarship Fund will cover registration expenses for students to present at the symposium.

Officers for 2019:

President: Ginger Davis, Hamilton County Soil and Water Conservation District,

ginger.davis@hamiltoncounty.in.gov, (317) 773-2181

President-Elect: Dave Lampe, USGS, dclampe@usgs.gov, (317) 600-2742

Secretary: Cyndi Wagner, IDEM, cwagner@idem.in.gov, (317) 308-3381

Treasurer: Joe Schmees, Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts,

joseph-schmees@iaswcd.org, (317) 692-7591

Last year, Kathleen Fowler (Semi-retired), United States Geological Survey, received the Charles Harold Bechert Award for her many contributions to the hydrology of Indiana. Significant contributions of colleagues across the state were recognized in 2018 through the Outstanding Achievement Award in the Academic, Private, and Public Sectors. In the Academic Sector, Dr. Venkatesh Merwade was recognized for his work to

improve the flood prediction and mapping capabilities for Indiana rivers. Dr. David A Hillman, of Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust, received the award in the Private Sector for his investment in the health of the White River through restoration and protection efforts. The Indiana Finance Authority received the Outstanding Achievement Award Public Sector for its statewide initiative to sample lead in Indiana public schools. Sally Letsinger was presented with the William G. Wilber – John S. Zogorski Leadership Award for her significant contributions to our IWRA organization. Congratulations to our 2018 award winners!

Please submit a nomination for the IWRA Charles Harold Bechert Award and/or the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards for presentation at the 2019 symposium. The Bechert Award celebrates lifetime achievement of excellence in water resources, whereas the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards honor individuals who have contributed significantly to the goals of IWRA:

Promotion of research and technical, social, economic, advances in all aspects of water resources; Collection and dissemination of water-resources information through publications, symposia, and other media; Relating the needs of water-resource institutions for specialized services or guidance to qualified professionals; or Initiating and maintaining lines of communication in the water-resources community.

Nomination forms are available on the IWRA website: iwra.info/forms/IWRA_award_nomination_form.pdf. Please send your nominations to Mark Basch, IWRA Awards Committee, mbasch@dnr.IN.gov, (317) 232-0154. The nomination deadline is May 18, 2019.

An IWRA membership form and dues request was e-mailed on February 15th. This year we have added an online option for paying dues iwra_membership.eventbrite.com. The traditional form is also available iwra.info/2019/IWRA_Membership_Form.pdf. Please support IWRA and our student scholarship program. Thank you for your support!

Please contact me if you have questions about the meeting, student scholarships, membership, or anything else. I look forward to connecting with you in Syracuse!

Best,

Ginger Davis

2019 IWRA President

Indiana Water Resources Association

Promoting Water Resource Science, Management, Education, and Communication for Professionals and Students www.iwra.info

THANK YOU!

We thank those individuals that supported the **IWRA Student Scholarship Fund** in 2018:*Les Arihood, Jody Arthur, David Beach, Siavash Beik, Laura Bowling, Sarah Brichford, Thomas Bruns, Keith Cherkauer, Martha Clark Mettler, Jerry Davis, William Davis, Jacques Delleur, Otto Doering, Todd Feenstra, Kathleen Fowler, Billy Giles, Bob Gillespie, Glenn Grove, Hendrik Haitjema, Rosemarie Hansell, Jill Hoffmann, Katie Jamriska, Joe Ketterman, David Knipe, Sally Letsinger, Jim Luckiewicz, Jeff Martin, Scott Minor, John Mundell, David Nance, Greg Nethery, Klaus Neumann, Doug Opell, Richard Powell, Gretchen Quirk, Adam Rickert, Monique Riggs, Joe Schmees, David J. Smith, Dennis Stewart, Jon Stolz, Kevin Straffin, Jim Sullivan, Harold Templin, Troy Weaver, Bill Wilber, John Wilson, and Lorraine Wright.* Your support of the scholarship fund is critical for enabling student participation at our meetings.

WELCOME!

We welcome the following **new members to IWRA**: David Beach, Otto Doering, Greg Ellis, Todd Feenstra, Vanessa Gonzalez, Fikru Hailu, Tyler Henke, Sarah Hudson, Katie Jamriska, Vasiliki Keramida, Seth Miller, Kathryn Mudica, Ram Neupane, Adam Rickert, Samantha Schreiner, Jordan Seger, Connie Stevens, Kevin Straffin, Andrew Tennyson, Don Tripp, Dana Wilkinson, and Valerie Wilson. We are glad to have your support!