

### **Indiana Water Resources Association**

# http://iwra.info

# The Indiana State Section of the American Water Resources Association

February 2, 2018

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

Please join me in thanking 2017 IWRA President Jeff Martin and his team for an excellent symposium on "Threats To and From Indiana's Water Resources." The symposium was very well attended, the student posters were wonderful, and the speakers provided both informative and entertaining presentations.

The 39<sup>th</sup> Annual Indiana Water Resources Association Symposium will convene in Bloomington June 27-29, 2018. On June 27-28, 2018, we will have a symposium at the Monroe Convention Center, the theme of which is "Ensuring a Sustainable Water Future for Indiana." On Friday, June 29, we will have a field tools and techniques demonstration day at Flatwoods Park, Gosport, Indiana, where the water-resources community of Indiana (that's all of you) will share approaches to field data collection in a relaxed setting. Information regarding registration will be forthcoming.

This year, we will be soliciting sponsors for the symposium and field demonstration day, and we will be recruiting exhibitors who want some exposure to our membership. The organizing committee will also be putting the word out to those that would like to participate in sharing tools and techniques related to water-resources, from well installations to water-quality sampling and geophysical techniques – we want to learn what you do and how you do it!

For the 2018 symposium, we are seeking oral and poster presentations on a wide range of topics related to water sustainability including: **Water Supply**: Aquifer storage, understanding or planning for extreme events (droughts, flooding), surface-water and groundwater resources, water-resources planning. **Water Quality**: Point and non-point source contamination and how that can unexpectedly result in water scarcity concerns. **Infrastructure**: Public water supply, treatment, distribution, mapping. **Habitat**: How do low flows, sedimentation, or contamination affect in-stream species. In addition to these "theme" topics, we would love to hear about water-resource issues and activities in *your* area of expertise.

A call for abstracts will be distributed by e-mail soon. Please share the call with colleagues that might be interested in our symposium. Students are especially encouraged to present at the symposium. The IWRA Student Scholarship Fund will cover registration expenses for students to present at the symposium.

#### Officers for 2018 are:

President: Sally Letsinger, IGWS, sletsing@indiana.edu, (812) 855-1356

President-Elect: Ginger Davis, Hamilton County Soil and Water Conservation District,

Ginger.Davis@hamiltoncounty.in.gov, (317) 773-2181

Secretary: Cyndi Wagner, IDEM, cwagner@idem.in.gov, (317) 308-3381

Treasurer: Joe Schmees, IDEM, jschmees@idem.in.gov, (317) 308-3194

Last year Dr. William G. Wilber (retired), United States Geological Survey, received the Charles Harold

Bechert Award. IWRA also recognized the outstanding contributions of several colleagues in the School Branch Partnership: Bob Barr, IUPUI, Center for Earth and Environmental Science, received the Outstanding Achievement Award Academic Sector; Progressive farmers Jack Maloney and Mike Starkey received the Outstanding Achievement Award Private Sector; and Shannon Zezula, Natural Resources Conservation Service received the Outstanding Achievement Award Public Sector. Congratulations to our 2017 award winners!

Please submit a nomination for the IWRA Charles Harold Bechert Award and/or the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards for presentation at the 2018 symposium. The Bechert Award celebrates lifetime achievement of excellence in water resources, whereas the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards honor individuals who have contributed significantly to the goals of IWRA:

Promotion of research and technical, social, economic, advances in all aspects of water resources; Collection and dissemination of water-resources information through publications, symposia, and other media; Relating the needs of water-resource institutions for specialized services or guidance to qualified professionals; or Initiating and maintaining lines of communication in the water-resources community.

#### Nomination forms are available on the IWRA website:

http://iwra.info/forms/IWRA\_award\_nomination\_form.pdf. Please send your nominations to Mark Basch, IWRA Awards Committee, <a href="mailto:mbasch@dnr.IN.gov">mbasch@dnr.IN.gov</a>, (317) 232-0154. The nomination deadline is May 18, 2018.

An IWRA membership form and dues request was e-mailed on January 25. The form is at <a href="http://iwra.info/2018/IWRA\_Membership\_Form.pdf">http://iwra.info/2018/IWRA\_Membership\_Form.pdf</a>. Please support IWRA and our student scholarship program. Thank you for your support!

Please contact me if you have questions about the meeting, student scholarships, membership, or anything else except for I-69 construction traffic. I look forward to networking with you in Bloomington!

Regards, Sally Letsinger 2018 IWRA President Indiana Water Resources Association

Promoting Water Resource Science, Management, Education, and Communication for Professionals and Students <a href="http://iwra.info">http://iwra.info</a>

#### THANK YOU!

We thank those individuals that supported the **IWRA Student Scholarship Fund** in 2017: *INTERA, IWRRC, Les Arihood, Jody Arthur, Tony Bailey, Mark Basch, Siavash Beik, Sarah Brichford, Thomas Bruns, Keith Cherkauer, Martha Clark Mettler, Edward Clements, Jacques Delleur, Laura Esman, Kathleen Fowler, Indra Frank, Art Garceau, Billy Giles, Bob Gillespie, Glenn Grove, Rosemarie Hansell, Jeff Healy, Jill Hoffmann, Chad Jafvert, Michael Karls, David Knipe, David Lampe, Sally Letsinger, Jeff Martin, Greg Nethery, Klaus Neumann, Christa Phelps, Gretchen Quirk, Michael Sears, Cheryl Silcox, Harold Templin, Phil Ward, Kathryn Watson, Troy Weaver, Bill Wilber, and John Wilson.* Your support of the scholarship fund is critical for enabling student participation at our meetings.

### WELCOME!

We welcome the following **new members to IWRA**: Shalamar Armstrong, Odetta Cadwell, Kristiana Cox, William Davis, Indra Frank, Eric Gamble, Seth Harden, Chad Jafvert, Christian Krupke, Christa Phelps, Sarmistha Singh, David J. Smith, Kevin Spindler, John Stofleth, Jim Sullivan, Mike Sutton, Jaron Walling, and Bill Weeks. Thank you for your support!