

Indiana Water Resources Association

http://www.valpo.edu/organization/xiwra/

The Indiana Section of the American Water Resources Association

February 1, 2008

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

They said it would never happen. We were too small. We didn't contribute enough money. Yet the Holy Grail was achieved this fall when IWRA received AWRA's Outstanding State Section Award! AWRA recognized us for our history of quality, innovative meetings. Let's call it a Lifetime Achievement Award that was long overdue. Harold Templin's nomination was critical in getting this recognition for IWRA. Thank you Harold! Jeff Martin accepted the award for us at the national AWRA meeting in November, and he was the perfect choice given his long service to IWRA. Our award, a "gavel of glory," honors the service and commitment that all IWRA presidents, officers, and committee members, past and present, have given to make IWRA such an educational, engaging, and enjoyable organization for so long. The gavel will henceforth be passed from president to president and it works amazingly well to quiet our noisy business meetings.

Our 28th Water Resources Spring Symposium and Field Trip held in Merrillville was another success in 2007 with many excellent presentations and field trips that included tours of the Thornton Quarry and flood control project, the Little Calumet flood control project, Indiana Dunes wetlands restoration project, Dunes Creek restoration project, and the largest, cleanest still any of us had ever seen (namely, the Iroquois Bio-Energy ethanol plant). Thanks to Tim Kroeker, our 2007 President, and his symposium committee for organizing such a great meeting.

The following officers were elected for 2008:

President: Jeff Frey, USGS (jwfrey@usgs.gov) 317-290-3333 ext. 151
President-Elect: Dennis Stewart, IDNR (dkstewart7@sbcglobal.net) 317-234-1079
Secretary: Art Garceau, IDEM (agraceau@idem.IN.gov) 317-308-3381

Treasurer: Kathleen Fowler, USGS (kkfowler@usgs.gov) 317-290-3333 ext. 137

Let's continue the successes of 2007 into 2008, so please join us for the 29th Annual IWRA Spring Symposium. **Mark your calendars for May 14-16, 2008**, and join us at the newly remodeled Radisson Hotel in Bloomington, Indiana. The theme of the symposium is "Nutrient Enrichment in Streams and Lakes: Causes, Effects, and Management." This topic is relevant to Indiana and the rest of the Nation as nutrient criteria are being developed to protect streams and lakes. Part of the symposium will include a discussion of the newly formed Indiana Water Monitoring Council (http://www.iaswcd.org/watersheds/iwmc/index.html) and opportunities for IWRA's participation in the Council. For those of you who are interested, the Indiana Water Monitoring Council will have a meeting in the morning on May 14th at the same Radisson Hotel in Bloomington.

As part of our spring meeting, IWRA is accepting nominations for the Charles Harold Bechert Award which was established in 1981 to honor outstanding members of the water-resources community in Indiana. Please consider nominating someone who has contributed significantly to water-resources activities in Indiana. Send your nominations to IWRA Awards Committee chair Mark Basch (mbasch@dnr.IN.gov). Congratulations to Judith Beatty for her Bechert award in 2007.

The IWRA Student Scholarship Fund continues to be supported by many IWRA members. This fund provides financial assistance for students who present at our meetings. Many thanks to the following individuals who contributed to the scholarship fund in 2007: Sharon Adams, Leslie Arihood, Bob "Bugs" Armstrong, Jody Arthur, Don Arvin, Konrad Banaszak, Mark Basch, Randy Bayless, Siavash Beik, Thomas Berquist, Thomas Bruns, Martha Clark Mettler, Jacques Delleur, Howard Dillon, Paul Farmer, Kathleen Fowler, Val Frazee, Arthur Garceau, Billy Giles, Bob Gillespie, Henk Haitjema, Rosemarie Hansell, Nancy Hasenmueller, Jeff Healy, Paul Johnson, James King, Eileen Kladivko, David Knipe, Timothy Kroeker, Jhani Laupus, Sally Letsinger, James Luckiewicz, Kathy Luther, Kenneth Luther, Jeff Martin, Scott Morlock, John Mundell, Greg Nethery, Phil Odenkirk, Linda Prokopy, Michael Robinson, Paul Ruegamer, Greg Schrader, Michael Sears, Cheryl Silcox, Elisabeth Solchik, John South, Jeff Spicer, Cindy Spoljaric, Dennis Stewart, Harold Templin, Larry Theller, Ronald Turco, Amanda Ulberg, Jerry Unterreiner, David Wagner, Phil Ward, Lee Watson, Richard Whitman, John Wilson, and Pam Wolsiefer-Leak.

IWRA is fortunate to have a dedicated and growing membership. We welcome these new members that have joined IWRA in 2006 or 2007: Indianapolis DPW, Nancy Baker, Daryl Brown, Brad Buening, Christine Curtis, William Guertal, James Kerlin, Moon Kim, James King, Jennifer Kipper, Brett Lackey, Brent Ladd, Jhani Laupus, Susan Licher, Leena Lothe, Brian McKenna, Travis Murphy, Kay Nelson, Sarah Nerenberg, Phil Odenkirk, Sara Peel, Joe Pfeiffer, Linda Prokopy, Martin Ryan, Robert Scott, Tushar Sinha, Jeff Spicer, Rebecca Travis, Amanda Ulberg, Zach Wendling, Gwen White, Richard Whitman, and Daniel Wright.

One of the main costs for IWRA is printing and mailing to our members and friends. Periodically we must purge our mailing list of friends than are no longer active in IWRA. **Please look at the mailing label for this letter.** If the last line of the label says "Drop? Yes" then you are scheduled to be purged from list. You can prevent this tragedy by paying dues.

In closing, I ask that you please take a moment to renew your membership in IWRA by completing the enclosed membership form for 2008. I also encourage you to continue to give generously to the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund. Thank you for supporting IWRA.

If you have any questions concerning the spring meeting, or IWRA in general, please feel free to give me a call at 317-290-3333 ext. 151 or email me at jwfrey@usgs.gov. I look forward to seeing you at the 2008 spring symposium!

Sincerely,

Jeffrey W. Frey IWRA President 2008

> Visit the Indiana Water Resources Association Web Page at: http://www.valpo.edu/organization/xiwra/