

Indiana Water Resources Association

http://www.valpo.edu/organization/xiwra/

The Indiana Section of the American Water Resources Association

February 12, 2007

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

Once again the bar has been raised. Congratulations to Jane Frankenberger, 2006 IWRA President, for a tremendous Spring Symposium at West Lafayette. I won't need Limbo lessons to get under that bar, but it will take quite a leap to get over it. Our 27<sup>th</sup> Water Resources Symposium, co-sponsored by the Hoosier Chapter of the Soil and Water Conservation Society, was filled with presentations aimed at *"Energizing Indiana's Water Community."* Jane's efforts have definitely helped to get that ball rolling.

Jane also transported us into the 21<sup>st</sup> century with IWRA's first ever cyber meeting. This turned out to be the perfect way for us to conduct the fall business meeting amidst busy schedules.

The following officers were elected for 2007:

President:	Timothy Kroeker, V3 Companies, Ltd. ( <u>tkroeker@v3co.com</u> ) 630-688-6174
President-Elect:	Jeff Frey, USGS (jwfrey@usgs.gov) 317-290-3333 ext. 151
Secretary:	Art Garceau, IDEM (agraceau@idem.IN.gov) 317-308-3381
Treasurer:	Kathleen Fowler, USGS ( <u>kkfowler@usgs.gov</u> ) 317-290-3333 ext. 137

We thank these officers for their service to the Association. Also to be thanked are the many strong pillars of IWRA that continue to keep the organization active and moving forward: Harold Templin, our liaison to the American Water Resources Association; Ken Luther, our webmaster and liaison to the academic community, Jeff Martin, for his membership and email efforts; Mark Basch, IWRA Awards Committee; Greg Schrader and Tom Bruns, IWRA Sponsorship Committee; and the many past presidents and other members that continue to work to support the Association.

The IWRA Student Scholarship Fund continues to be supported by many IWRA members and friends. This fund provides economic incentives and assistance for students to have a forum for presenting their work, for getting involved with a professional organization, and for having the opportunity to interact with people who have a history working in the Sciences. Many thanks to the following individuals who contributed to the fund in 2006: *Leslie Arihood, Mark Basch, Siavash Beik, Thomas Berquist, Thomas Bruns, James Buck, John Buechler, Jacques Delleur, Howard Dillon, Larry Feazell, Robert Fischman, John Fisher, Kathleen Fowler, Jane Frankenberger, Val Frazee, Jeff Frey, Arthur Garceau, Billy Giles, Bob Gillespie, Karl Glander, Raj Gosine, Rosemarie Hansell, Jeff Healy, Ernest Johnson, Paul Johnson, Eileen Kladivko, Jhani Laupus, Sally Letsinger, James Luckiewicz, Kenneth Luther, Greg Nethery, Doug Opell, Greg Overtoom, Glenn Pratt, Christian Ritz, Paul Ruegamer, Linda Schmidt, Michael Sears, Cheryl Silcox, Elisabeth Solchik, John South, Jon Stolz, Harold Templin, Larry Theller, Bruce H. Thomson, Ronald Turco, Amanda Ulberg, Jerry Unterrriner, Cynthia Wagner, David Wagner, Phil Ward, Lee Watson, John Wilson, Pam Wolsiefer-Leak, and Lorraine Wright.* 

We now move from our glorious past to our promising future; please join us for the 28<sup>th</sup> Annual IWRA Spring Conference and Field Trip. Mark your calendars for June 20 – 22, 2007, and join us at the beautiful Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza in Merrillville, Indiana. The Radisson will be our base of operations as we visit sites throughout northwest Indiana and learn about the water-resource issues and opportunities in this important region of our State. The Program Committee has the daunting task of selecting sites to visit from the many of interest in this region and I believe the spring field trip will have something for everyone.

As part of our spring meeting, IWRA is accepting nominations for the Bechert Award. The Charles Harold Bechert Award was established in 1981 to honor outstanding members of the water-resources community in Indiana. Please consider nominating someone who has contributed significantly to water-resources activities in Indiana. Send your nominations to IWRA Awards Committee chair Mark Basch (mbasch@dnr.IN.gov).

In closing, I ask that you please take a moment to renew your membership in IWRA by completing the enclosed membership form. **Membership dues for 2007 have been raised from \$10 to \$20, the first dues increase in 28 years.** IWRA Treasurer Kathleen Fowler informed us at the spring business meeting that IWRA operating funds were getting low. These funds are needed to provide the quality technical programs that IWRA members have come to love and expect. A motion to raise the dues passed unanimously. I also encourage you to continue to give generously to the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund.

If you have any questions concerning the spring meeting, or IWRA in general, please feel free to give me a call at 630-688-6174 or email me at <u>tkroeker@v3co.com</u>. I look forward to seeing you at the 2007 spring symposium and field trip this June!

Sincerely,

Timothy S. Kroeker IWRA President 2007

Visit the Indiana Water Resources Association Web Page at: <a href="http://www.valpo.edu/organization/xiwra/">http://www.valpo.edu/organization/xiwra/</a>