

Indiana Water Resources Association

http://www.valpo.edu/organization/xiwra/

The Indiana Section of the American Water Resources
Association

February 2006

Dear Members and Friends of the IWRA:

The Indiana Water Resources Association had another successful year in 2005. Thanks to Phil Ward, our 2005 President, for his leadership and for organizing a great Spring Field Trip in areas around New Harmony. Many of us learned a great deal about oil and gas production and related water impacts, as well as getting to know that fascinating part of Indiana.

The Fall Meeting, postponed from December, was held Jan. 27 in Indianapolis. The following officers were elected:

President: Jane Frankenberger, Purdue University (frankenb@purdue.edu; 765-494-1194)

President-Elect: Tim Kroeker, IDEM (tkroeker@idem.IN.gov; 317-234-3312) Secretary: Art Garceau, IDEM (agarceau@idem.IN.gov; 317-308-3381)

Treasurer: Kathy Fowler, USGS (kkfowler@usgs.gov, 317-290-3333 ext. 137

Many hard-working people continue to make IWRA such a great organization. Besides President Phil Ward, I would like to thank Art Garceau for serving as IWRA Secretary, Kathy Fowler for serving as Treasurer, Ken Luther for maintaining the IWRA web site (http://www.valpo.edu/organization/xiwra/) and also for serving as faculty liaison; Harold Templin, who continues as our liaison with the American Water Resources Association; and Jeff Martin, whose exceptional volunteer service keeps us all in touch and the membership list current. These dedicated volunteers make it possible to keep the cost of IWRA so low while maintaining such an effective organization. (I'll take this opportunity to remind you that IWRA membership is really one of the best deals available. Don't forget to send in your \$10 annual membership dues right away.)

The IWRA Student Scholarship fund continues to be supported by many IWRA members and friends. The fund provides economic incentive and assistance to students that present papers at our Spring Symposium. One or more scholarships will be provided this year (see the Call for Presentations). Many thanks to the following individuals who contributed to the fund in 2005: Leslie Arihood, Jody Arthur, Don Arvin, J. Darrell Bakken, Konrad Banaszak, Mark Basch, Siavash Beik, John Bell, Thomas Berquist, Thomas Bruns, Thomas Chamberlin, Jerry Davis, Jacques Delleur, Howard Dillon, Herbert Eagon Jr., Larry Feazell, John Fisher, Kathleen Fowler, Val Frazee, Arthur Garceau, Billy Giles, Bob Gillespie, Karl Glander, Henk Haitjema, Rosemarie Hansell, Nancy Hasenmueller, Jeff Healy, Robert Houghtalen, Ernest Johnson, Alyson Keaton, David Knipe, Sally Letsinger, James Luckiewicz, Kathy Luther, Kenneth Luther, Jeff Martin, Greg Nethery, Stephen Nielsen, Doug Opell, Glenn Pratt, Richard Rampone, Mark Reshkin, Martin Risch, Michael Robinson, Michael Sears, Cheryl Silcox, John South, Cindy Spoljaric, Dennis Stewart, Jon Stolz, Harold Templin, Larry Theller, Ronald Turco, Jerry Unterrriner, David Wagner, Stuart Walesh, Phil Ward, Lee Watson, Terry West, John Wilson, Pam Wolsiefer-Leak, and Lorraine Wright.

The 27rd Annual IWRA Spring Symposium is a must. Please mark your calendars for June 21-23 and plan on enjoying a few days in beautiful West Lafayette. Purdue University really does have outstanding conference facilities, and many IWRA members (even those with strong IU connections) have told me that they are enthusiastic about holding it there. We expect to benefit by learning about the exciting water-related research and educational activities taking place at Purdue, and at the same time learn about what is happening in water resources throughout the State. This is a great opportunity to present your current work and/or hear what others in Indiana's water community are doing. Please respond by April 1 to the Call for Presentations that is attached if you care to present, or plan to just come and learn.

An additional **benefit of the Purdue location** is the possibility of inexpensive lodging (plus a chance to recall fondly your college days) in a dormitory room. Of course more luxurious rooms will also be available in the excellent Union Club Hotel, where we will also have a hospitality suite. A new feature this year is that IWRA conference registration will be online, rather than by mail. This service was offered at no additional charge and we believe will be convenient for most people. More information will be coming soon. Keep checking the link from the IWRA web page (http://www.valpo.edu/organization/xiwra/) for updates on the Symposium.

I would like to encourage you to subscribe to the **email list** for distributing information about the IWRA and water-related activities. For some reason, the number of people that have subscribed is still low. Without a greater number, we cannot use it as the primary means of communicating. Does subscribing seem difficult? It's not – just send a quick message to majordomo@valpo.edu with the text "subscribe iwra-L" in the body of the message. Please let me or Ken Luther know if you have questions about this.

Please also consider nominating someone who has contributed significantly to water resources activities in Indiana for the **Bechert Award**. The Charles Harold Bechert Award was established in 1981 to honor outstanding members of the water resources community in Indiana. Please send nominations, or even ideas of potential nominees, to Mark Basch (mbasch@dnr.state.in.us), Phil Ward (PWard@gesonline.com), or Jane Frankenberger (frankenb@purdue.edu).

Finally, please take a minute to complete the enclosed membership form to **renew your IWRA dues for 2006**. The value of your \$10 membership is hard to beat, and is certainly unmatched by other professional organizations. Students can join for an amazing \$2. Encourage your friends and colleagues interested in water resources to join IWRA.

Please feel free to contact me at 765-494-1194 or e-mail at frankenb@purdue.edu if you have any questions about IWRA in general, or the upcoming Symposium. I look forward to seeing all of you in June.

Sincerely,

Jane Frankenberger, Purdue University

Jane Frankenbyer

IWRA President 2006



INDIANA WATER RESOURCES ASSOCIATION

Membership Form for 2006

With the new year comes the opportunity to begin or renew your membership in the Indiana Water Resources Association. IWRA is a scientific and educational not-for-profit organization established to encourage interdisciplinary communication among persons working in all aspects of water resources. Dues for the calendar year are \$10 for a regular member and \$2 for a student member. A voluntary contribution to the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund also may be made. Questions concerning memberships may be directed to Jeff Martin, (317) 290-3333 ext 148, jdmartin@usgs.gov. Please make your check payable to IWRA and mail your dues and this form to:

IWRA Membership Committee 8204 Claridge Road Indianapolis, IN 46260-4914

Name:	Title:
Address:	
City:	_ State: Zip + 4:
Employer:	Business Phone:
Email Address:	
Area of Interest:	
Amount of Dues: Regular \$10:	Student \$2:
Contribution to IWRA Student	Scholarship Fund: \$5: \$:

Thank you for supporting IWRA