

Indiana Water Resources Association Spring 2005 Business Meeting New Harmony Inn Thursday 6/16/05 7:30 PM

1. Call to Order

President Phil Ward called the meeting to order at 7:25 PM with 26 members in attendance.

2. Secretary's Report

The Secretary's Report was amended to show that Jane Frankenberger did not attend the Fall meeting. It was then moved by Bob Autio to accept the Secretary's Report; seconded by Ken Luther; and passed unanimously.

3. Treasurer's Report

Kathleen Fowler presented the following information with supporting data:

Balance brought forwarded from 2004 \$6,167.81

Income \$4,386.71 Expenses \$3,751.76

Year to date balance <u>634.95</u>
Current balance \$6,802.76

Scholarship Fund included in Current Balance \$4,836.35

Certificates of Deposit \$4,694.14

After a short discussion of the data, Rosy Hansell moved that the Treasurer's Report be accepted; seconded by Greg Jettery; and passed unanimously.

4. Membership Report

Jeff Martin reported there are 111 members, with 60 members contributing to the Scholarship Fund.

5. Webmaster Report

The web page is ready for pictures from the Spring field trip. The Webmaster will add anything to the web page that is of interest to the membership. The membership list is on the web page.

6. Faculty Liaison Report

Several members from the University of Southern Indiana (USI) were active in the Spring meeting and gave presentations.

7. AWRA Report

An application for the IWRA to be recognized for an Outstanding Section Award was submitted, but there has been no response yet. The Spring Conference was put on the AWRA web site in May. There has been a slow response to the notification of the new IWRA officers.

8. Awards Committee Report

The Secretary was asked to research the members of The Awards Committee and to report the names at the Fall meeting.

Secretary's Report on the Bechert Award Committee

The Bechert Award Committee consists of the President, Immediate Past President and three members appointed by the President representing the Academic Sector, Private Sector and the Government Sector. The last known committee members as reported in the Business meeting minutes dated June 23, 2004 are as follows:

President: Ken Luther Immediate Past President: Tracy Branam

Academic Sector: Vacant (was Jane Frankenberger whose term expired 6/03)

Government Sector: Mark Basch whose term expired 6/04
Private Sector: Siavash Beik whose term expired 6/05

The current committee members are:

President: Phil Ward

Immediate Past President: Ken Luther

Academic Sector: Vacant - term expires 6/06
Government Sector: Vacant - term expires 6/07
Private Sector: Vacant - term expires 6/08

The new President needs to immediately appoint three new committee members.

9. Fall 2005 Meeting – Open Discussion

The Fall meeting may include groundwater brine monitoring.

10. Spring 2006 Meeting – Open Discussion

Jane Frankenberger asked the membership whether to have the Spring 2006 meeting at a State park or at the main Purdue Campus. The consensus was to have the meeting at the Purdue Campus. Also, the program should be a broad based water topic.

11. Old - New Business

Rosy Hansell will complete a certificate and letter to present to Members Emeritus. She will also compile and distribute the list of Members Emeritus names. The Board of Directors elect the Members Emeritus.

12. New Business

A. Jeff Martin discussed the need for a Sponsorship Committee for the meetings. Greg Schrader volunteered to be the chairman, and Tom Bruns volunteered to be a committee member.

B. Phil Ward announced that USI has been requested to host the 2008 Geological Society Symposium. USI has requested that IWRA join in hosting the symposium in April or May of 2008. Phil will find out more detail of what is being requested and the level of involvement needed. He will report to the Board of Directors so they can make an informed decision.

13. Adjourn

Tom Bruns motioned for adjournment; seconded by Ken Luther; and passed unanimously.

For the Fall Business Meeting	. <u></u>
December 9, 2005	Arthur C. Garceau, Secretary