

Indiana Water Resources Association Fall 2005 Business Meeting IUPUI Indianapolis Friday January 27, 2006 8:00 AM

1. Call to Order

President Phil Ward called the meeting to order at 8:06 AM with 17 members in attendance. This meeting was scheduled for Friday, December 9, 2005, at 8:00 AM but due to a 7" snowfall was postponed to January 27, 2006.

2. Election of new officers.

Nominees are:

- a. Jane Frankenberger President 2006
- b. Timothy Kroeker President Elect 2006
- c. Art Garceau Secretary 2006
- d. Kathleen Fowler Treasurer 2006

President Phil Ward asked for a motion to accept the nominations. Jeff Martin so moved and Mark Basch seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the nominees were elected unanimously.

3. Secretary's Report

The minutes of the Spring Meeting were read. Kathleen Fowler moved to accept the Secretary's Report. The motion was seconded by Timothy Kroeker and passed unanimously.

4. Treasurer's Report

Kathleen Fowler presented the following information with supporting data:

Balance brought forwarded from 2005	\$6,167.81
Income	\$5,611.71
Expenses	\$6,132.88
Year to date balance	\$ (521.17)
Current balance	\$5,646.64
Scholarship Fund included in Current Balance	\$4,836.35
Certificates of Deposit	\$4,921.74

After a short discussion of the data, Rosy Hansell moved that the Treasurer's Report be accepted. The motion was seconded by Mark Basch and passed unanimously.

5. Secretary's Special Report on the Awards Committee

The Secretary was asked to research the members of The Awards Committee and to report the names at the Fall meeting.

The Bechert Award Committee consists of the President, Immediate Past President and three members appointed by the President representing the Academic Sector, Private Sector and the Government Sector. The current committee members are:

President: Jane Frankenberger

Immediate Past President: Phil Ward

Academic Sector: Vacant - term expires 6/06
Government Sector: Vacant - term expires 6/07
Private Sector: Vacant - term expires 6/08

New committee members need to be appointed.

Mark Basch agreed to represent the Government Sector and will work with President Jane Frankenberger to appoint members for the Academic and Private Sectors.

6. Membership Report

Jeff Martin reported there are 121 members, with 62 members contributing to the Scholarship Fund. Membership has ranged from 89 to 146 since 1999. There are 13 new members this year.

7. Webmaster Report

The web page needs pictures to be posted and needs to have data of members and friends of IWRA updated.

8. Faculty Liaison Report

Ken Luther continues to work on getting more faculty involved. Any and all suggestions will be gratefully accepted

9. AWRA Report

Harold Templin said that IWRA received an "Honorable Mention" award "suitable for framing" from the AWRA again this year. The award will be stored in the "Box-O-Office" that Ken Luther still has. It was suggested that Ken should give the "Box-O-Office" to Jane. Harold will work with the Webmaster to get all the awards going back to 1998 posted on the WebSite.

10. Awards Committee (see Item #5)

A list of the Bechert Award recipients was requested. Jeff Martin provided the following list as it appears on the IWRA WebSite:

Oral Hert, 1981

Daniel Wiersma, 1982

William J. Andrews, 1984

William J. Steen, 1986

Dennis K. Stewart, 1990

Jacques W. Delleur, 1992

Jim Barnett, 1996

John Simpson, 1998

Thomas Bruns, 2002

Jeff added that Mark Reshkin received the Bechert Award in 2004.

11. Spring 2006 Meeting – Open Discussion

The Spring 2006 meeting will be held June 21 through 23 at Purdue University. The Announcement is on the WebSite and the Call for Papers is in final draft. Abstract submittals will be due April 1.

12. Old Business – Members Emeritus

Rosy Hansell has a list of nine Members Emeritus and she suggested that the Board of Directors reaffirm the elections as documentation for some of the nine could not be located. Rosy will complete a certificate and put it in a presentation folder for each Member Emeritus. Rosy suggested that a special invitation letter to the Spring 2006 meeting be sent to each Member Emeritus that would include an explanation of their lifetime benefits. The list of Members Emeritus is as follows:

William Steen	1994
John Bell	1995
James Gammon	1995
Richard Powell	1995
James Barnett	2001
Jacques Delleur	2001
John Simpson	2001
Mark Reshkin	2004

Charlie Weir was included in this list as reported in the Business Meeting Minutes of November 11, 2001. The following names were referred to the Board of Directors for consideration of being elected Members Emeritus: Darrell Leap, Danny Renn, Jerry Davis, Bob Armstrong, Noel Krothe, and Kim Greeman.

13. Old Business – 2008 meeting

The University of Southern Indiana is the official sponsor of the 2008 Geological Society of America National Meeting. They would like IWRA support and Phil Ward will follow up on what is being requested.

14. New Business

No new business.

15. Adjourn

Harold Templin motioned for adjournment; seconded by Kathleen Fowler; and passed unanimously at 9:00 AM.

For the Spring Business Meeting June 21, 2006	Arthur C. Garceau, Secretary



Indiana Water Resources Association Fall 2005 Business Meeting IUPUI Indianapolis Friday December 9, 2005 8:00 AM

JANUARY 27,2006

Attendance			
Name	Affiliation	Phone, Fax, or e-mail	
Teffmatu	U565	290-3333 x148	
PHIL WARD	GES	317-876-0357	
HAROLD TEMPLIN	IDEM	317-232-8711	
Troy Weaver	#DEM	717 233-243Ø	
	IDEM	317 234 - 3312	
Timothy Kroeker ART GARCEAU Greg Schruder Mark Basan RANDY MAIER	DNR DILOTUAL DNR DOW DNR-DOW	317 -234-1102 317 -232-0159 317-234-1106	
BOB AUTIO	ENV. DATA & CONSULTIN	1c 317.989.2018	
Leron Tedero	ICPUI - CEES	317.274.7154	
Rosy Housel	MCHD	317 221-2287	
Kathleen Fowler	US6-S	317-290-3333 X	
CRIG NETHENNY		317, 984-562/	
ABBY CAMPORIL	USG5 IUPVI	290-3333 X/88	
Robert Barn	CEES/IVPUI	hobarr Q'jupui. edu	